Ingurtosu, just 15 minutes from the Quinto Moro, is one of the most interesting examples of mining town in Sardinia, a settlement dating from the 19th century set on a steep slope, clothed in thick pine woods.
At the heart of the village stands a cluster of carefully restored villas, once the homes of the mining company directors or and the mine offices.
One of the best known is “the director’s office” also known as “the castle” built in French neo-Gothic style in 1870 by German builders.
Its main façade is cladded in stone, with a frieze of hanging arches on the side looking out over the valley, and it has arched single and double-light windows on the different floors.
A short gallery overlooks the main street, with a neo-Gothic wooden balcony and outer surface in masonry with wooden bracings. The whole design of this building, quite unusual in Sardinia and indeed in Italy, is a clear sign of its Nordic planner.
Thanks to a major refurbishment project, the miners’ village of Ingurtosu and the Gal Shaft, true gems of Sardinian mining archaeology, have been returned to their original status.
The detailed refurbishment of the former mining centre, recently completely after two years of intense work, has returned to the community one of the symbols of its recent history and has also created a not-to-be-missed point of interest for visitors to the Costa Verde.
The Gal shaft building is now home to the Multimedia Museum of Mining History: visitors can run through the life of the mine thanks to interactive video panels which come to life as the visitors walk by, narrating through films and images the stories of those who spent their whole working life in the mine.
UNESCO has recognised the universal value of the island’s mining culture enshrined in the Cagliari Charter (1998), which contained the principles and objectives which subsequently led to the creation of the Geo-Mining, Historic and Environmental Park of Sardinia.